This photograph depicts the Church before it was largely rebuilt in 1900 and was unearthed recently whilst having a look through some neglected storage
Within the same cupboard was also found a booklet entitled “History of Christ Church Stone 1837-1900” by Rev. J. R. Line, M.A., Vicar of Christ Church at that time.
This booklet gives a fascinating insight into the first 63-years at Christ Church, and describes the alterations carried out, when the original twin spires and nave were demolished, but live on within the current building as many of the materials were recycled.
Documents with this indicate a quote was obtained for reprinting it in 1961, but the version which has been scanned and can be viewed on the above link is an original from 1900.